Hello again.

July 28, 2011

That didn’t take long, did it?  Welcome to the first post of my new blog, which is a continuation of the Fedora, Linux, and Open Source blog that I’ve been writing since 2006.  While I’m busy moving across country, it seems as good a time as any to move my blog to WordPress.

On August 22nd, I begin with Amazon Web Services as a manager in their Kernel & Operating Systems group. My team’s focus is on the overall customer experience of using Amazon Machine Images (AMIs). This includes accountability for the Amazon Linux AMI, working with external AMI vendors, and handling premium support for customers running AMIs.

Thus, one of the places where my new job will continue to intersect (at least a little bit) with the Fedora community is in the Cloud SIG, where the building, testing, and deployment of Fedora on EC2 is a key goal of that group of contributors.

I’ve subscribed to the cloud mailing list and sent a few notes, but things will probably be a bit quiet from me until I actually start with Amazon.  The next few weeks are devoted to seeing some family on the east coast followed by the logistics around leaving Raleigh and relocating to Seattle.

7 Responses to “Hello again.”


  1. Congratulations by your new job Max!

    Fedora community will miss you a lot! :(

    You was the best leader of the project ever!


  2. Congrats, Max. Did you know we’re currently trying to pull together a Fedora 15-on-EC2 Test Day? We’ll have one for F16 later in the cycle too. Help would be great!

    https://fedorahosted.org/fedora-qa/ticket/212

    we’ve been a bit stuck waiting for the cloud SIG to get the AMIs done lately.

    • spevack Says:

      Adam,

      With the caveat that the next few weeks are transitional for me and my computing time will be a bit limited, I definitely intend to be part of the Cloud SIG, and to lend my assistance in particular with Amazon-related activities.

      Looking forward to continuing to work with you!


  3. Congrats Max. Good luck in your new job!


  4. Nice to see you moving to WordPress, Max! I’ve been a user and big fan for many years now. Be seeing you online. ;-)

  5. Gent Thaçi Says:

    Hey Max, it was great meeting you in Brussels this year. Thanks a lot for your help. Have a great time at Amazon.


  6. man, you deserve it! Thanks for all your great work and wish you all the best for the future! ;)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.